Egypt flag   Egypt

News |  Business |  Tourism |  African Foods |  Photos |  African Music |  Visa |  African Embassies in Japan |  Japan Embassies in Africa

Click to enlarge map of egyptMap of Egypt

Advertise on this page

Name(official): Arab Republic of Egypt
Name(short): Egypt
Capital City: Cairo
Location: North Africa
Coordinate: 27 00 N, 30 00 E
Independence: (from Britain) February 28th, 1922
  • Mohamed Hussein Tantawi
    Acting President from 11 February 2011 -
    (Chairman, Supreme Council of the Armed Forces and defacto leader following President Mubarak’s resignation)
  • Kamal Ganzouri (PM 7 December 2011 - )
  • Omar Suleiman (V.P.31/01/2011 to 11/02/2011)
  • Hosni Mubarak 14/10/1981 - 11/2/2011
    (resigned in response to mass protest by the people of Egypt)
  • Sufi Abu Taleb - President(Acting) 06/10/1981 to 14/10/1981
  • Anwar El Saddat - President(assassinated) 15/10/1970 - 06/10/1981
  • Gamal Abdel Nasser Hussein - President 23/06/1956 to 28/09/1970
  • Muhammad Naguib President 18/06/1953 to 14/11/1954
  • Essam Sharaf PM 07/03/2011 - 07/12/2011
  • Ahmed Shafiq - PM 31/1/2011 to 7/3/2011
  • Ahmed Nazif - PM 14/7/2004 to 31/1/2011
Type of Government: Republic
Total Area: 1 001 450
Population: 78.9million (2006 est.)
People: Egyptian 98%, Berber, Nubian, Bedouin, and Beja 1%, Greek, Armenian, other European (primarily Italian and French) 1%.
Religion: Muslim94%, coptic christians/others6%
Languages: Arabic(official), English and French
Literacy: 57.7%total, 68.3%male, 46.9%female
Currency: Egyptian Pound (1EGP= 100piasters)
GDP(per capita): $3 900 (2005est.)
Arable Land: 2%
Agriculture: corn, wheat, cotton, beans, rice, vegetables, fruits, cattles, goats, sheep, waterbuffalo.
Natural resources: natural gas, petroleum, manganese, iron ore, phosphate, asbestos, gypsum, limestone, talc, lead, zinc
Embassy in Japan: Embassy of the Arab Republic of Egypt,
Chancery: 1-5-4 Aobadai, Meguro-ku.
Post Code: 153-0042 Tel. 03-3770-8022(3), 03-3589-0653(tourism)
Embassy of Egypt, Japan
International Phone Code: country code +20



Al Qahirah, Al Iskandariyah, Al Jizah, Subra al-Khayah,Bur Said, As Suways, Al Mahallah al-Kubra, Tanta, Al Mansurah, Asyut.




Egypt is divided into the following 26 governorates(muhafazat):
Ad Daqahliyah, Al Bahr Al Ahmar, Al Buhayrah, Al Fayyum, Al Gharbiyah, Al Iskandariyah, Al Isma'iliyah, Al Jizah, Al Minufiyah, Al Minya, Al Qahirah, Al Qalyubiyah, Al Wadi al Jadid, As Suways, Ash Sharqiyah, Aswan, Asyut, Bani Suwayf, Bur Sa'id, Dumyat, Janub Sina', Kafr Ash Shaykh, Matruh, Qina, Shamal Sina', Suhaj.


All data posted on this site is for information purposes. We use statistical data gathered from the CIA World Factbook and numerous other public domain reference materials. While every effort had been made to be as accurate as possible in our presentation, no claim is being made/inferred as to the accuracy or otherwise of these materials and we accept no responsibility for unintentional data entry errors and or omissions. By using this data, you agree to do so at your own risk.

Home| Resource Directory | Heads of States | Regional Bodies | NGOs/NPOs | Site Map |
Link to Us | Consultancy |   About Us | Comments! | Privacy Policy! | Terms & Conditions!
© 2007, Japan Africa Network
All trademarks and registered trademarks appearing on this site are the property of their respective owners.