buy africa, african country t-shirts
Buy Africa | country t-shirts | Flags |Goods

sudanese national flag  Sudan

Google Custom Search

News |  Business |  Tourism |  African Foods |  Photos |  African Music |  Visa |  African Embassies in Japan |  Japan Embassies in Africa

Name(official): Republic of Sudan
Southern Sudan has just voted in a referendum 9-15 January 2011 to separate with this country. The wishes of 99% who chosed independence has already been accepted by Sudan and will be granted independence in July creating Africa’s newest state.
Name(short): Sudan
Capital City: Khartoum
Location: Northern Africa Click to enlarge map of sudan
Map of Sudan
Coordinate: 15 00 N, 30 00 E
Independence: (From Egypt and Britain) January 1st; 1956.
President: Field Marshal Umar Hassan al-Bashir
Type of Government: Government of National Unity(GNU).The NPC and SPLM formed a power sharing government under a 2005 Comprehensive Peace Agreement(CPA)
Total Area: 2 505
Population: 41 236 378 (July 2006 est.)
People: Blacks 52%, Arabs 39%, Beja 6%, Foreigners 2%, others 1%.
Religion: Sunni muslim 70%(in the north) indigenous beliefs 25%, christians 5%(in the south and Khartoum).
Languages: Arabic(official), Nubian, Ta Bedawei, diverse dialects of Nilotic, Nilo Hamitic, Sudanic languages, English.
Literacy: 61.1%total, 71.8%male, 50.5%female (2003 est.)
Currency: Sudanese dinar (1SDD= 100piastres)
GDP(per capita): $2 100 (2005 est.)
Arable Land: 6.78% (2005 est.)
Agriculture: Cotton, peanuts, sorghum, millet, wheat, gum arabic, sugarcane, cassava(tapioca), mangoes, papaya, banana, sweet potatoes, sesame, sheep, livestocks.
Natural resources: Petroleum, copper, chromium ore, zinc, tungsten, mica, silver, gold, hydropower, small reserve of iron ore.
Embassy in Japan: Embassy of the Republic of the Sudan
Chancery: 4-7-1, Yakumo, Meguro-ku.
Post Code: 152-0023
Tel. 03-5729-6170, Fax: 03-5729-6171
Embassy of the Republic of Sudan, Tokyo.
General Info:
International Phone Code: +249



Khartoum, Omdurman, Wad Madani, Kosti, malakal, Atbara, Port Sudan, Bor, Juba




26 states (wilayat, singular - wilayah); A'ali an Nil (Upper Nile), Al Bahr al Ahmar (Red Sea), Al Buhayrat (Lakes), Al Jazirah (El Gezira), Al Khartum (Khartoum), Al Qadarif (Gedaref), Al Wahdah (Unity), An Nil al Abyad (White Nile), An Nil al Azraq (Blue Nile), Ash Shamaliyah (Northern), Bahr al Jabal (Bahr al Jabal), Gharb al Istiwa'iyah (Western Equatoria), Gharb Bahr al Ghazal (Western Bahr al Ghazal), Gharb Darfur (Western Darfur), Gharb Kurdufan (Western Kordofan), Janub Darfur (Southern Darfur), Janub Kurdufan (Southern Kordofan), Junqali (Jonglei), Kassala (Kassala), Nahr an Nil (Nile), Shamal Bahr al Ghazal (Northern Bahr al Ghazal), Shamal Darfur (Northern Darfur), Shamal Kurdufan (Northern Kordofan), Sharq al Istiwa'iyah (Eastern Equatoria), Sinnar (Sinnar), Warab (Warab).